At the end of the Day It’s the Little Things

It’s the little things throughout the day that I remember at the end of it.  Those are the things that stick with me.

My husband having my coffee mug out and ready to be used right next the coffee pot, or how he puts my work bag in the car for me every morning,  and I can’t forget about his stopping at the store on his way home to pick up a few things. It’s the little things.

My students with a true “good morning” greeting and a smile on their faces.  The way Alex always stops and tells me to go through the door first, the way Rebecca is always willing to lend Kyle her pencils, the way Jordan never leaves out the students that come into our room for just one class period, the way a certain group of students work so hard together to solve a difficult problem. Its the little things.

My parents who watch my daughter five days a week and never act exhausted even when I know they must be.  The times when I come home and my mom has dinner made for us or when I walk through the door and can hear Ava laughing from having such a great time with her grandparents. It’s the little things.

My time alone with Ava reading books.  The way she laughs at her favorite part of The Love Monster, the way she tells me about her whole day starting with once upon a time…, the way she says “I love you, mommy” right before I walk out of her room for the night.  It’s the little things.

These are the things that stick with me through the day.  These are the things that matter most.

One thought on “At the end of the Day It’s the Little Things

  1. hopesm80

    I love how you said, “These are the things that stick with me throughout the day.”
    You’re so right–all these little uplifting moments become an anchor for all the little things that are frustrating and exhausting in our days. Recognizing and appreciating all these little things is a sign of a very happy life! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

