My Secret Circle of Friends

Last night I was lucky enough to catch up with some great friends of mine.  We formed a quick friendship from day one based on common quirks, interests, and the love of just having a great time whenever we’re together. These friendships stayed strong through job changes, becoming mothers, moving further distances, and just our busy daily lives. We knew there was something special enough to not give up our bond and quickly became the routine of meeting up somewhat monthly. We call it our book club.  I have to be honest and admit that I’m not quite sure how often books get discussed.  Of course, we recommend to one another, and tell each other what we just have to read, but really it’s just our secret circle of friendship formed over common interests.  I haven’t been able to make it the last couple of times so when I finally had the chance to be with them last night I jumped on it.  It was such a reminder of how special they are to me.

Whenever we’re together it’s just fun.  I could simply stop at that.  I mean we laugh nearly the entire night.  I don’t know what it is.  We just click.  Similar personalities?  We all just like having a good time?  Not sure.  These are friends that I met in my early 20’s and now in my mid 30’s nothing has changed.  There’s a reason we all formed this friendship and won’t let go of it.

There are serious sides to this friendship too.  If need be.  These are friends that drop everything they are doing to listen to you.  Even if their lives are busier than yours at that moment. They stop.  And listen.  They give advice if you’re looking for it.  They give suggestions if you want them.  They give support if you need it.  And sometimes.  They just listen.

I’m very grateful that my life has crossed paths with theirs and we’ve remained friends all this time. I look forward to our next monthly outing.

5 thoughts on “My Secret Circle of Friends

  1. bbutler627

    “I don’t know what it is. We just click.” Click is right-on; indescribable chemistry needing very few words. They sound like a great crew! Book clubs are totally in faction right now. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

