Face to face with your Phobia

Have you ever been face-to-face with your phobia?  I have fears of things but nothing quite like my phobia of spiders.  It’s paralyzing for me.   If I can touch one with a ten foot pole then it’s too close.  If I am home alone I will watch the spider until my husband gets home to take care of it.  He has received hysterical phone calls that he needs to get home because there’s a spider in the house.  He’ll tell me things like use a shoe, put a cup over it, spray some bug spray on it.  I just can’t bring myself to get that close.

My mom needed some old pictures that were stored in our crawl space.  I got curious and started to look through some just when I felt a little tickle over my left shoulder and jumped a little. I swiped with my hand but felt nothing.  My husband saw me jump and asked what happened.  I told him I got a… and all I saw were his bulging eyes leaping from the couch and his hand was flying at me.  I KNEW.  I KNEW something was there.  He swiped once and I knew I wasn’t in the clear yet.  I thought I was going to have a panic attack.  I couldn’t feel anything. I couldn’t move.  My body was paralyzed.  I could only scream.  Horrible, horrible words that I won’t even type with asterisks because they were so bad I don’t want them to be on the record.  Bam! He swats again and yells, “Get me a paper towel!”  I couldn’t.  I really could not move. He came running back downstairs and wrapped up whatever it was in a blanket of paper towels and took care of it.

When my heart began to finally beat at a normal pace I quietly asked, “What was it?”  He just looked at me with questioning eyes that were asking are you sure you want to know? ” What.  Was it?” I repeated.   Why did I need to know?  Wouldn’t it just torture me more?  I just had to know though so he finally told me.  A centipede!!!!!!!!!! Again.  Even with carefully placed asterisks I won’t say what my response was.

Needless to say, I’ve been twitching for two days now.  A gust of wind, a breeze from a fan, a swipe of my hair.  It all makes me jump.  I’m constantly looking over my shoulders.

12 thoughts on “Face to face with your Phobia

  1. lifeunexpected811

    Ew we we ew!!! A centipede??!! Really?? Shanna that’s gross! I feel for you. That’s not okay… Thank goodness your husband was there! I could feel your emotions through the whole thing. I love the way you write!

    Reply
  2. shellybellyjanski

    I don’t know which of those I hate more. Centipedes creep me out because of how quick they are. You will see them in the dark, turn on the lights, and bam they’re gone. I feel yucky now thinking about them.

    Reply
  3. jen b.

    I only feel that jittery when they catch me by surprise, but I can completely relate to the breeze causing my hair to crawl on my skin. And shadows, don’t get me started on shadows in my house that are forever mimicking spiders and centipedes, taunting me! Your writing was so vivid, I felt as though I was with you in that space.

    Reply
  4. mrssurridge

    Yikes! Centipedes freak me out more than spiders. Centipedes and cockroaches–same family in my opinion. I loved the way you ended this. Those experiences stay with you for days…I just had a chill up my neck.

    Reply
  5. brighidk28

    “twitching for two days”…hahaa…Oh my god. I don’t blame you. I am twitching FOR you right now as I read this. So disgusting. The centipede’s are the WORST. They are little spawns crawled up for the depths of hell… twitchy legs and the freakish fast way they scurry.. oh.. gaaaahh. SO gross Shanna. But, what a great post.

    Reply
  6. ccahill2013

    I have the same exact phobia of spiders!!! I put shoes on top of them and it totally freaks me out to even do that. I can completely relate!!!! I was laughing out loud the whole time I read this. Thanks for that!!

    Reply
  7. bbutler627

    I’ve seen you and cicadas so I knew how serious this is. I also know it’s got to be the funniest thing ever to see and Tom taking care of it always as seriously as he does is why he’s the best. Creech is the best. I love the Creech! I love you too and you know of never mess with this phobia of yours either. I freak over a million-legger. I think they have bones.

    Reply
  8. peteacher1

    Phobias are not funny…but this story was funny to me. Sorry! I like when you tell of calling your husband in hysterics telling him he must come home to get a spider. Made me laugh out loud. I do understand a paralyzing feeling when confronting your fear though. And … Feeling like creepy crawlies are on you constantly after that experience – ugh – hate when that happens. It’s like the feeling you have after live checks.

    Reply

Leave a comment