Better than I even imagined…

My daughter is a daily reminder to never give up.  There was a time when my husband and I didn’t know if we’d be blessed with such a gift.  But we fought together and beat all the odds and now have a beautiful girl that makes every day better than the last. 

She is just so cool.  Funny word to describe your daughter, but she just is. We spent yesterday at a waterpark with some family members that we only get to see once a year.  For some, it was their first time meeting Ava.  She is already the kind of girl that brightens a room.  She walked right in with a giant smile on her face and began to hug people.  Some she was familiar with and others she’s never met. Some had presents for her since we don’t get to see each other for Xmas and before she even opened them she gave kisses as if she was thanking them. How do they learn this? Of course we begin teaching manners from day one, but these little ones with their spongy minds just amaze me.

She is just the happiest little girl I know. Everyone always comments how Ava is always smiling. And she is. She loves everything. She loves going to the store and looking at people and saying “hi!” to EVERYONE. She loves the odd day where it’s been 30 degrees and we’ve been able to go outside for a few minutes and explore. She loves hanging out and doing puzzles and playing with shapes. She loves her certain cartoons and others she could care less about. And man does the girl love books. She will sit on anyone’s lap and read a stack of books with them.

She is one determined little girl too. It doesn’t matter if it takes her 10 minutes to get a little piece of food on her fork she’ll do it. And she will celebrate by clapping. The other day she spent 15 minutes trying to climb up on the couch grunting away and pulling with all her might. She eventually did it and celebrated with a clap. While in the pool yesterday she wanted to swim all by herself. She kept pushing off us and saying “down mama, down daddy.” Even with a life vest this mom was not ready to let go. I made her think she was floating by herself while she kicked her legs wildly. Again, she just amazes me.

The joy this little girl has brought into, not only our lives, but the rest of our family’s lives is just immeasurable. The journey was rough but the blessing was bigger than we could have ever imagined.

9 thoughts on “Better than I even imagined…

  1. Kathy Perret

    Your daughter sounds amazingly … COOL! We have much to learn from the little ones in our lives. To find their joy, their happiness, their tenacity and sense of inquiry. As an educator I know our schools are full of amazing, cool, kids, like your daughter. We must remember to learn from them. To be like them. Thanks your sharing your daughter with us!

    Reply
  2. cjhamilton9

    This remembers me when I was trying to conceive. My oldest daughter was a walking joy machine. Everyone around her always commented on something she was doing. These are the best times you are sharing with your daughter. Enjoy every moment with her.

    Reply
  3. bbutler627

    Yes!!! I clutched my chest reading this. It was a long journey and no one deserved the more than you two. I knew the coolest little Creech was just waiting to make her appearance! I just wish there wasn’t so much pain for you on your path to parenthood. My family asks about her quite often. She proof that good things do happen to good people. Thank you for writing this 🙂

    Reply
  4. ccahill2013

    Angela told me about running into your husband and Ava at a store over the XMas holiday. She was so drawn to little Ava because of that magnetic personality you describe here in your writing. I am so, so, so happy for you Shanna!! xoxo

    Reply
  5. Katie Diez

    Children are such a gift! I have been around so many little ones, but didn’t really understand either until I became Mommy to someone. I am so grateful everyday, and your slice made me smile:)

    Reply
  6. mettamusic

    I love how you let her go figuring out how to get on the couch and to float off on her own, such bravery you have already instilled in her. So happy for you!

    Reply
  7. Dana Murphy

    I love that you used the word “cool” to describe Ava. It’s a perfect word. She gets that from you guys, you know? You’re the coolest people I know.
    I will never, ever forget when I texted you after you brought Ava home from the hospital. Do you remember what you said? You wrote, “This is better than I even imagined it would be.” So worth the wait, wasn’t it???
    Can’t think of another couple to deserve such a ‘cool’ blessing.

    Reply

Leave a comment